Nuclear Medicine Researcher to Receive Priestley Medal


Frederick Hawthorne of the University of Missouri, Columbia, will receive the 2009 Priestley Medal from the American Chemical Society (ACS) for his contributions to inorganic chemistry. Hawthorne is considered a pioneer in understanding the chemistry of boron. He has developed the use of boron compounds in many fields, notably medical imaging and other medical applications. His research at the University of California, Los Angeles, was for many years supported by the Office of Science. He currently heads the International Institute of Nano and Molecular Medicine at the University of Missouri. The Priestley Medal is given “for distinguished service to the field of chemistry” and is the highest honor awarded by the ACS. It will be presented to Hawthorne at the Society’s National Meeting in Salt Lake City in March 2009.