DOE-Sponsored Researchers Win Prestigious American Meteorological Society Prize


The American Meteorological Society’s (AMS) Jule G. Charney Award is granted to individuals in recognition of highly significant research or development achievement in the atmospheric or hydrologic sciences. AMS has selected DOE-sponsored climate researchers, Warren Washington and Jerry Meehl from the National Center for Atmospheric Research as co-recipients of the AMS 2009 Jule G. Charney Award “for outstanding collaborative contributions to modeling climate and its response to anthropogenic and natural forcings.” The award ceremony will take place at the 89th Annual meeting, scheduled for January 11-15, 2009 at Phoenix Arizona.