DOE-Funded Scientist Becomes Member of American Academy of Arts and Sciences


Dr. Warren Washington, a long-standing scientist at the National Center for Atmospheric Research, has been elected as a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Now in its 229th year, the Academy honors distinguished scientists, scholars, and leaders in public affairs, business administration, and the arts. Dr. Washington’s election, a result of a highly competitive selection process, recognizes his outstanding contributions to climate change science and to society.  New members will be formally inducted at the House of the Academy in Cambridge Massachusetts in October 2009.  Dr. Washington joins a distinguished company of extraordinary individuals:  from the founder, John Adams, to George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, and Thomas Jefferson in the eighteenth century; and Alexander Graham Bell, Charles Darwin, Ralph Waldo Emerson, William and Henry James and Maria Mitchell in the nineteenth. A full list of active Academy members is available at www.amacad.org.