Director Graham Fleming Awarded the Earle K. Plyler Prize


Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Physical Biosciences Division Director Graham Fleming has been awarded the 2002 Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy sponsored by the George E. Crouch Foundation. The American Physical Society granted Professor Fleming the award “for his seminal work on chemical reaction dynamics in liquids and the dynamics of fundamental biological processes using femtosecond laser spectroscopy.” The Plyler Prize was established to recognize and encourage notable contributions to the field of molecular spectroscopy. Past recipients include such luminaries as George Pimentel and Nobel Laureate Charles Townes. The Prize will be presented to Professor Fleming at the APS March 2002 meeting.