BER Aerosol Researchers Recognized


Two DOE-funded young researchers were recognized with major awards for their climate-related research in atmospheric aerosols. James N. Smith, of the National Center for Atmospheric Research received the Whitby Award for “outstanding technical contributions to aerosol science…by a young scientist” for his studies in new particle formation. Also, Peter DeCarlo received the Friedlander Award for “outstanding [doctoral] dissertation” for his BER-supported graduate work at the University of Colorado. Both awards were announced and presented at the recent annual meeting of the American Association for Aerosol Research (AAAR) in Minneapolis, MN, on October 26-30, 2009.